

05/22/2021

Re: Elections Committee Year-End Report for Academic Year 2020-2021

The Elections Committee consists of three senators appointed by the Faculty Senate Steering Committee; each appointee must come from a separate college. The Elections Committee conducts Senate and University elections involving faculty. In February, the Election Committee prepared the ballots for Specialized Faculty and circulate the to the members of large units and the individual units, allowing two weeks for nominations and two weeks for the return of the ballots. In March the Elections Committee prepared the ballots for the Grievance Committee and circulated them to all members of the General Faculty, allowing two weeks for the return of ballots. At the April meeting, the Elections Committee prepared the ballots and conducted the election of the Senate President and the Steering Committee.

In October 2020, the faculty senate approved changes to the FSU constitution regarding the makeup of its members and to raise the number of specialized faculty from two to ten. There is currently specialized faculty one senator (Bridgett Birmingham, University Libraries) serving through 2022, thus, in 2021, elections were held for nine specialized faculty senators. In order to stagger future specialized faculty senator elections, five of the nine elected senators will serve two-year terms, 2021 - 2023, and four will serve one-year terms, 2021 - 2022. Senate bylaws require that at least 5 Colleges are represented and there are at least 1 teaching, 1 research and 1 libraries faculty in the 10 elected specialized faculty.

The Specialized Faculty elections have been conducted from Feb 17 to 19, 2021 for large units (in terms of number of faculty) and Thayumanasamy Somasundaram (College of A&S, Sr Research Assoc, 2021-2023), Amy McKenna, MagLab, Research Fac III, 2021-2023), Terra Bradley (College of Med, Assistant in Research, 2021-2022) were elected.

The elections for at-large seats were held from Feb 24 to 26, 2021 and the following members were elected:

- Roxanne Hughes (MagLab) Research Fac II, 2021-23
- Devin Soper (Stozier Library) Assoc Univ Librarian, 2021-23
- Courtney Barry (Undergraduate Studies) -Instructional Spec II, 2021-23
- Elizabeth Crowe (PC Campus, Elementary Ed)- Teaching Fac I, 2021-22
- Joseph Calhoun (College of Soc Sci & Pub Pol)- Teaching Fac III, 2021-22
- Geoffrey Adams, (College of Bus)- Teaching Fac I, 2021-22

The Grievance Committee elections were conducted on March 22, 2021. Each college or school shall have one representative; the Colleges of Education, Business, and Social Sciences shall have an additional representative; and the College of Arts and Sciences shall have four additional representatives. The terms of 2 members from Arts& Sciences, 1 member for Criminology and 1 member for Fine Arts were expiring this year. As a result of the election, Adrian Barbu and Sachin Shanbhag (Arts& Sciences) Joseph Schwartz (Criminology) and Meredith Lynn (Fine Arts) were elected.



In the senate meeting on April 14, 2021 elections of the Faculty Senate President and members of the Faculty Senate Steering Committee (FSSC) were conducted. Eric Chicken was elected as President. According to the senate bylaws, at least 4 colleges shall be represented in the FSSC. In the FSSC (total of 7 members) 4 members were returning (Enrique Alvarez, A&S, Bridget Birmingham, University Libraries, Nancy Rogers, Music, Gary Tyson, A&S), and 3 new members were elected. Petra Doan (Social Sciences and Public Policy), Erin Ryan (Law) and Elizabeth Crowe (Education, PC Campus) were elected to the 3 open seats of the FSSC.

I would like to thank the Election Committee members Amy Ai from College of Social Work and Qian Yin from Biological Science for their diligent work for the committee this year.

Sincerely,

Arda Vanli, Ph.D. Chair, Faculty Senate Elections Committee

Associate Professor Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering. Florida A&M University-Florida State University, College of Engineering. 2525 Pottsdamer Street, Tallahassee FL 32310-6046 Phone: (850) 410-6354. Fax: (850) 410-6342. E-mail: oavanli@eng.famu.fsu.edu Webpage: <u>https://www.eng.famu.fsu.edu/~oavanli/</u>