

July 28, 2020

Elections Committee Report for Academic Year 2019-2020

Dear Faculty Senate Members and Faculty Senate Steering Committee,

The Elections Committee ran the elections for Faculty Senate President and Faculty Senate Steering Committee at the April 22, 2020, Faculty Senate Meeting. Eric Chicken was elected President of the Faculty Senate, and Gary Tyson (A&S), Bridget Birmingham (Libraries), Nancy Rogers (Music), and Enrique Alvarez (A&S) were elected to the four open positions on the Steering Committee. Voting was conducted through a combination of Zoom and Qualtrics because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Before the pandemic, the Elections Committee discussed the possibilities of using iClickers for voting during in-person Faculty Senate meetings, where senators would have their own individual iClickers. This technology has the potential to make it easier to track voting during senate meetings, and the Elections Committee recommends that the Faculty Senate consider this idea more fully in the future.

Finally, I would like to extend my deepest thanks to the committee members — Arda Vanli from Engineering and Jane Lo from Education — for their hard work on the Elections Committee this year.

Sincerely,

Paul F. Marty, Ph.D.

Val A/May

Professor, School of Information, College of Communication and Information