

05/22/2022

Re: Elections Committee Year-End Report for Academic Year 2021-2022

The Elections Committee consists of three senators appointed by the Faculty Senate Steering Committee; each appointee must come from a separate college. The Elections Committee conducts Senate and University elections involving faculty. In February, the Election Committee prepared the ballots for Specialized Faculty and circulated to the members of large units and the (at-large) individual units, allowing two weeks for nominations and two weeks for the return of the ballots. In March the Elections Committee prepared the ballots for the Grievance Committee and circulated them to all members of the General Faculty, allowing two weeks for the return of ballots. At the April Faculty Senate meeting, the Elections Committee prepared the ballots and conducted the election of the Senate President and the Steering Committee.

The Specialized Faculty elections were conducted in February 2022 on Qualtrics.

In October 2020, the faculty senate approved changes to the FSU constitution regarding the makeup of its members and to raise the number of specialized faculty to ten. In order to, stagger specialized faculty senator elections, each year 5 of the 10 seats are up for election. Furthermore, the Senate bylaws require that at least 5 Colleges must be represented and there are at least 1 teaching, 1 research and 1 libraries faculty in the 10 elected specialized faculty. In 2022, 5 senators were returning therefore 5 senators were elected, all of them for 2 year terms. 2 of the open seats were large-unit (for College of Medicine and University Libraries) and 3 were at-large-unit. As a result of the elections, the following faculty members were elected as specialized faculty senators

For large units:

Bridgett Birmingham (Libraries, 2022-2024)

Jordan Montgomery (Medicine, 2022-2024) .

For at-large seats:

Christina Owens - Undergraduate Studies, Honors Program (2022-2024)

Joseph Calhoun - Social Sciences & Public Policy, Economics (2022-2024)

Ryan Baumbach - Natl High Magnetic Field Lab, Condensed Matter Science (2022-2024)

The Faculty Senate Grievance Committee elections were conducted in March, 2022 on Qualtrics. In this committee each college or school shall have one representative; the Colleges of Education, Business, and Social Sciences shall have an additional representative; and the College of Arts and Sciences shall have four additional representatives. This year, nine (9) people needed to be elected this year for three-year terms (2022-2025) for the Committee - one (1) each from Arts & Sciences, Education, Engineering, Health & Human Sciences, Medicine, Nursing, and Social Work. As well as two (2) from Social Sciences & Public Policy. As a result of the election the following faculty were elected as members of the committee for the 2022-2025 term:

Arts & Sciences: Andrew Durdin, Religion,



Education: Laura Marks, Edu Psychology & Learning Systems Engineering: John Sobanjo, Civil & Environmental Engineering

Health & Human Sciences: Gloria Salazar Aranda, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology

Medicine: Heather Flynn, Behavioral Sciences and Social Medicine

Nursing: Jessica Bahorski, Nursing

Social Sciences & Public Policy: Eric Coleman, Political Science Social Work: Amy Ai, Social Work & Melissa Radey, Social Work

In the senate meeting on April 13, 2022 elections of the Faculty Senate President and members of the Faculty Senate Steering Committee (FSSC) were conducted. Eric Chicken was elected as President. According to the senate bylaws, at least 4 colleges shall be represented in the FSSC. In the FSSC (total of 7 members) 1 member was returning (Erin Ryan, Law, 2021-2023), and 6 new members were elected. The following members were elected to the 6 open seats of the FSSC.

Todd Adams (College Arts & Sciences, 2022-2024)
Enrique Alvarez (College of Arts & Sciences, 2022-2024)
Bridgett Birmingham (University Libraries, 2022-2023)
Roxanne Hughes (National High Magnetic Laboratory, 2022-2023)
Jennifer Proffitt (College of Communication & Information, ,2022-2024)
Nancy Rogers (College of Music, 2022-2024)

I would like to thank the Election Committee members Qian Yin from Biological Science and Thayumanasamy Somasundaram from Institute of Molecular Biophysics, and the Faculty Senate Coordinator, Veronica L. Lopez, for their diligent work for the committee this year.

Sincerely,

Arda Vanli, Ph.D.

Chair, Faculty Senate Elections Committee

**Associate Professor** 

Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering. Florida A&M University-Florida State University, College of Engineering.

2525 Pottsdamer Street, Tallahassee FL 32310-6046

Phone: (850) 410-6354. E-mail: oavanli@eng.famu.fsu.edu Webpage: https://www.eng.famu.fsu.edu/~oavanli/