Senate Elections Committee Year End Report

ACADEMIC YEAR (2022-23)

The Senate Elections Committee consists of three senators appointed by the Faculty Senate Steering Committee. The Elections Committee conducts the Senate and the University elections involving faculty including the specialized faculty. The current Elections Committee members are Kathryn Jones (Arts and Sciences), Amy McKenna (National High Magnetic Field Lab), and Thayumanasamy Somasundaram (Arts and Sciences).

In Jan 2023, the Elections Committee sent an email seeking nomination for the Senate Grievance Committee. The nomination window was open for approximately two months between Mon, Jan 16, 2023, and Fri, Mar 10, 2023. Then the election was held between Wed, Mar 15, 2023, and Fri, Apr 17, 2023 via Qualtrics poll. The following members have been elected for the Grievance Committee and will serve a three-year term:

Adria Quintela (College of Law)

Jane Ohlin (Dedman)

Roxanne Parker (Jim Moran)

Rachel Lumsden (College of Music)

Nilay Gundogan (Arts and Sciences)

Trinyan Mariano (Arts and Sciences)

Jack Fiorito (College of Business)

Dalisha Herring (College of Business)

Ron Honn (Motion Pictures)

Nancy Everhart (College of Communication and Information)

In Feb 2023, the Elections Committee held the specialized faculty elections for the open seats by opening the window for nominations between Fri, Feb 3, 2023, and Fri, Feb 17, 2023. The Large-Unit election was held by Qualtrics poll between Fri, Mar 17, 2023, and Fri, Mar 24, 2023, and the At-Large Unit election was held by Qualtrics poll between Mon, Mar 27, 2023, and Fri, Mar 31, 2023. The following specialized faculty have been elected as senators for the Large Unit and At-Large Units for two-year term:

Large Unit:

Thayumanasamy Somasundaram (Arts and Sciences)

Michael "Mischa" Steurer (Office of Research)

At-Large Units:

Amy McKenna (National High Magnetic Field Lab)

Roxanne Hughes (National High Magnetic Field Lab)

Steven Miller (Arts and Sciences)

During the first Senate session of the 2023-24 academic year (Wed, Apr 19, 2023), after confirming the quorum was present, the Elections Committee opened the senate floor for accepting nominations for the Senate President. Bridgett Birmingham, University Libraries was nominated and seconded by a voice vote. Since she was the only nominee, she was elected as the President of the Senate unanimously.

The Elections Committee then proceeded to elect the Senate Steering Committee members. Three members of the current Senate Steering Committee will continue to serve their term. So, the Elections Committee had sought eight nominations (twice the number of open seats) for the four open seats for the Steering Committee via Qualtrics email between Mon, Apr 3, 2023, and Wed, Apr 5, 2023. During the senate session, members voted via Qualtrics poll to elect four members. The following were elected to the Senate Steering Committee for a two-year term:

Eric Chicken (College of Arts and Sciences)

Erin Ryan (College of Law)

Roxanne Hughes (National High Magnetic Field Lab)

Tarez Graban (Arts and Sciences)

I would like to thank the Elections Committee members Kathryn Jones from Biological Science and Amy McKenna from National High Field Magnetic Lab and the Faculty Senate Coordinator, Veronica Lopez for their help, guidance, and diligent work.

Sincerely,

Thayumanasamy Somasundaram

Chair, Faculty Senate Elections Committee (2022-23)
Institute of Molecular Biophysics

Thayumanasamy Somasundaram

Florida State University

Tallahassee, FL 32306-4380

Email: tsomasundaram@fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-6448