

May 2, 2022

From: Faculty Senate Grievance Committee 2021-2022 (Oliver Steinbock, Chair)

Re: Year-End Committee Report

The Faculty Senate Grievance Committee did not meet during the 2021-2022 academic year.

On August 26, 2021, I was contacted by Jennifer Buchanan, Associate Vice President for Faculty Development and Advancement about a grievance brought forward by a faculty member. The official grievance (Form G1) was filed on September 9, 2021. After review of the case, I assembled by random drawing a panel consisting of Profs. Tarik Dogru, Meredith Lynn, and Chuck Nyce. After further review by these committee members and official proceedings, the panel submitted their report and recommendation to the President. The President's Final Order was submitted to the faculty member and the involved parties on February 14, 2022.

On March 25, 2022, I was informed by Jennifer Buchanan that another faculty member had requested a peer panel. I selected Profs. Adrian Barbu, Melissa Radey, and Mark Spottswood to serve on this panel. The review is ongoing and the submission of the written reports is anticipated for the very near future.

In addition to these cases, I responded to requests for information as needed from faculty-at-large and from the Faculty Senate President. The committee members stood ready and willing to assist if they were called upon.

Respectfully submitted,

Oliver Steinbock

Professor of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Florida State University

Tallahassee, FL 32306-4390

Email: osteinbock@fsu.edu