Torch Award Committee Report – 2022

The members of the Committee for 2022 were Todd Adams, Val Auzenne, Marie Cowart, Leigh Edwards, Kirby Kemper, Maxine Montgomery, Anne Row, and Nancy Smilowitz with Jayne Standley and Marilyn Young as co-chairs. The Committee sent out a call for nominations in September. Nominations were received and distributed to the committee. The committee met in person and via Zoom and made award selections then sent those names to the Senate Steering Committee for confirmation. Recipients were notified by letter from the Provost's Office.

The recognition dinner was held in Feb, 2022, honoring: Vires: Vasken Hagopian, Clifford Madsen, Patricia Martin Mores: Alicia Crew, Janet Stoner

On that occasion, a **Special Recognition** plaque was also given to Carol DeLoach with great appreciation for her many years of assistance and service to the Torch Awards Committee and process

With approval of the Provost and the Torch Awards Committee, Jayne Standley and Marilyn Young proposed an amendment to the Faculty Senate ByLaws that established the Torch Awards Committee as the venue for selecting recipients of the Fred L. Standley Distinguished Professor Award. The amendment passed. Therefore, in the future, the selection of persons for this award will be made by the Torch Awards Committee with confirmation by the Faculty Senate.

Respectfully Submitted, Jayne Standley & Marilyn Young, Co-Chairs.