• 2.jpg
  • 4.jpg
  • 5.jpg
  • 9.jpg
  • 7.jpg
  • 6.jpg

Distance Learning Committee

The Distance Learning Committee shall provide policy development, oversight, and academic advice specific to the design and implementation of Distance Learning courses and degree programs. In particular, the committee will have the following responsibilities.

  1. To propose to the Senate procedures and standards for authorization to offer courses and programs by delivery methods other than standard classroom delivery, and for enduring quality control of such course and program offerings.
  2. To monitor the effectiveness with which the procedures and standards and standards adopted are being implemented.
  3. To propose to the Senate modifications to existing standards and procedures as appropriate. This committee will supplement, not supplant, the functions of other existing committees.

The committee shall consist of the following members: the Chairs of the Undergraduate Policy, Graduate Policy and University Curriculum Committees; three additional faculty members appointed by the Steering Committee, with the advice and consent of the Senate for staggered three-year terms. The Vice President for Faculty Development and Advancement, or his or her designee, shall be an ex-officio member. The Director of the Office of Distance Learning and the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs or his/her designee shall be ex-officio members. The Faculty Senate Steering Committee shall appoint its chairperson annually from the faculty representatives. The Committee will make its recommendations to the Steering Committee, which will transmit the recommendations to the Senate for action.


Chris Lacher, Arts and Sciences


Stacy Sirmans, Business, Chair


Charles Hinnant, Communication and Information

Other Members:

Eric Chicken, Arts and Sciences, UPC Chair
Liz Jakubowski, Education, UCC Chair
David Johnson, Arts & Sciences, GPC Co-Chair
Ulla Sypher, Communication and Information, GPC Co-Chair

Ex officio:

Vice President for Academic Affairs or designee; Vice President for Faculty Development and Advancement or designee; Director, Office of Distance Learning

Year-End Report: 2012-13

Year-End Report: 2013-14

Year-End Report: 2014-15

Year-End Report: 2015-16

Year-End Report: 2016-17

Year-End Report: 2017-18

Legacy Sort
Legacy Priority
title-inside title-centered